These are real, verified reviews on Avvo.com from past clients of Allison Hertog.  

Avvo is one of the largest and most respected lawyer review sites in the United States.  

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2018-01-23
    Avvo

    If there were more than 5 stars, Alliston Hertog would deserve them all. As an attorney myself, I have a deep understanding of what makes a lawyer standout. Knowledgeable, passionate, responsive, caring, accessbilble by text or email . . . Every box is checked in the case of Allison Hertog. There is nothing more important or difficult than dealing with issues involving our children. My son suffers from medical issues that impact his cognition, yet he is a bright student who does well in school. Allison helped me navigate a very difficult road with a national testing organization. She was strategic from a legal standpoint, and compassionate from a human standpoint. We consider ourselves very lucky to have had her on our team.

  • Carrie
    Carrie
    2017-06-09
    Avvo

    I have been blessed with having Ms. Hertog as an advocate for 2 of my children. My older daughter was originally diagnosed with one particular disability, but due to Allison's incredible background and experience with so many disabilities, she recommended that I have her checked for another one- and she was right! She even knew all of the local therapists in my area and was able to guide me to the best ones. My younger daughter is autistic and I also needed a compelling advocate to create the best possible IEP for her disabilities. Allison is simply the very best a family could ask for; empathetic, kind, patient, and she garners tremendous respect from colleagues in her field due to incredible intellect. Her unusual background with knowledge of Special Education, school system politics and legal expertise quite honestly make her far and away the most qualified. I have already recommended her to several other families. She has single-handedly improved the quality of my children's lives and I feel greatly indebted to her.

  • Carolina
    Carolina
    2017-02-27
    Avvo

    Ms. Hertog represented our daughter who has a very debilitating neurological illness in her appeal to the College Board for extended time. Allison was incredibly knowledgeable, professional, compassionate, supportive and straight forward and it was clear from the start that she truly believed in and had great passion for her work and for the children she serves. Allison worked with my daughter's doctors to document her complex medical issues and very real need for accommodations in a very detailed and convincing way. She also advocated assertively but always very professionally with the learning specialist at my daughter's private school to get the school to document the accommodations they have been granting her for the past 6 years as they were a bit reluctant to put it in writing. Ms. Hertog is very well respected in the educational community and her professional contacts were extremely helpful to our daughter's case. The College Board is notoriously difficult with appeals, especially when their Medical Review Board has already reviewed the case and granted some, but not all of the accommodations requested. They very rarely reverse these decisions on appeal but with Ms. Hertog's help they reversed their decision within a week! We are so grateful to her for her impassioned advocacy for our daughter. She is an extraordinary attorney and advocate for her clients and a wonderful, compassionate human being who we recommend most highly.

  • Kimberly
    Kimberly
    2017-02-22
    Avvo

    I had tried for almost 2 years to get a 504 for my high school son and then I contacted Allison Hertog. The fact that she has a Special education and Law degree is why we chose her. Thankfully in about a month we had our 504 in hand. We did not seek restitution money from the school district, my son just needed the process completed and my efforts were unsuccessful. Allison was amazing, she was honest about all possibilities and timelines and handled everything with the utmost professionalism.

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2016-07-05
    Avvo

    Our son (with ADHD and mild Asperger's) was failing at school because he was not receiving the services and accommodation he was supposed to receive. The meetings with the school administration were extremely unprofessional and basically they said they cannot do more for my son. After Alison took our case, we were able to modify his IEP to meet his needs, she was great and very helpful throughout the whole process. She is a wonderful advocate that truly understands what the families and kids go through especially in the current environment where the budgets are cut and the schools want to get rid of these kids if they cannot perform with minimal amount of services. I am glad I found her!

  • Alfredo
    Alfredo
    2016-05-25
    Avvo

    As a police officer I have dealt with attorneys Throughout my 23 year career. I have never dealt with a better attorney!! She is excellent and cares!! Without her my daughter would NEVER have gotten the help she needed. She obtained the IEP.. The school refused to help in anyway and violated the law. I tried to resolve the issue on my own and hours of meetings they simply refused reasonable accommodations for my daughters disability.' Allison corrected that .. She is so knowledgeable in this field no one will be better . She is awesome can't thank her enough and have nothing but great things to say about her!! I highly highly recommend her

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2015-12-17
    Avvo

    Allison Hertog is an exceptional, outstanding and superb lawyer. She is very personable, approachable and has a good relationship with the school staff and faculty, as well a strong professional network with the employee in the school district and in the ESE Department. I highly recommend her to anyone who wants fairness for their child education. She is an excellent in response time, very knowledgeable and someone who will fight for you.

  • Beatriz
    Beatriz
    2014-08-22
    Avvo

    Allison is extremely knowledgeable and you can see that right when you start talking to her. She helped us tremendously during our IEP meeting and without her help and expertise we would never have gotten the results we wanted and what was best for our child. If you are having any seconds thoughts about hiring her don't, she will fight in a polite way for your child.

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2014-08-19
    Avvo

    Allison, thank you so much for all your hard work, dedication, compassion and understanding. I felt from our first meeting you understood how to help me advocate for my child. As a parent of a special needs child, it meant the world to me that I could count on you. You had my child's best interests and you gave me the emotional and professional help I needed. I highly recommend Allison for her professionalism, knowledge, compassion and making sure my child received the very best. Thank you always.