• anonymous
    anonymous
    2020-04-27
    Avvo

    Very happy with the results! I'm happy I found Allison to help me with my reconsideration process for testing accommodations. As someone with a medical condition and learning disability, I struggled to obtained my recommended accommodations for the Medical College Admissions Test. This was particularly challenging because I lived many years not knowing of my learning disability. I highly recommend Allison to anyone looking for help with testing accommodations. Allison is very compassionate and a great listener! Very thankful.

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2019-03-24
    Avvo

    After initial denial from a high-stakes test authority, I was encountering some difficulties for an appeal: First, there are only a few attorneys available who handle this type of appeal. Second, I was also very desperate due to the coming deadline. Third, I was eager but it seems impossible to find an attorney who is professional enough to understand my case, a very unique and difficult one, and to assist me with a better approach for rebuttal. I feel so relived with all my worries immediately after my first consult session with Allison, my SUPER-WOMEN! Allison is always responsive and approachable, outstandingly professional/knowledgable (I consider this as her superpower) and really cares about people who has disability (fight for JUSTICE). She made extremely helpful strategies for my case which helped me won two test accommodations approval. Without all her professional suggestions, her dedication, her wise strategies and all the details she had checked for me, I would not have won my appeal. I feel so blessed that I found Allison!! I highly recommend Esq. Allison Hertog to anyone who is looking for a professional attorney to fight for fairness for people who have disabilities, the group of people really deserves to be equally treated for high-takes tests by LAW!!! Allison, thank you soooo much again!!!

  • Barbara
    Barbara
    2019-03-08
    Avvo

    We were turned down twice for extra time from the ACT board for our daughter. We knew that she needed it. She was sent to a special school in kindergarten and has had it throughout her school career. After the second time of being rejected we were shocked! We had no time to waste. Thank goodness Ms. Hertog was referred to us and she believed strongly in our case. I don’t think we could have done it without her. Ms. Hertog knew how to use our materials in proving our case. It would have been a huge disservice for our daughter if we didn’t hire her! When all the proper paperwork was turned in it took only three days for them to accept her! It brought happy tears to my eyes!!! Without any hesitation I highly recommend Allison Hertog!

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2018-01-23
    Avvo

    If there were more than 5 stars, Alliston Hertog would deserve them all. As an attorney myself, I have a deep understanding of what makes a lawyer standout. Knowledgeable, passionate, responsive, caring, accessbilble by text or email . . . Every box is checked in the case of Allison Hertog. There is nothing more important or difficult than dealing with issues involving our children. My son suffers from medical issues that impact his cognition, yet he is a bright student who does well in school. Allison helped me navigate a very difficult road with a national testing organization. She was strategic from a legal standpoint, and compassionate from a human standpoint. We consider ourselves very lucky to have had her on our team.

  • Carrie
    Carrie
    2017-06-09
    Avvo

    I have been blessed with having Ms. Hertog as an advocate for 2 of my children. My older daughter was originally diagnosed with one particular disability, but due to Allison's incredible background and experience with so many disabilities, she recommended that I have her checked for another one- and she was right! She even knew all of the local therapists in my area and was able to guide me to the best ones. My younger daughter is autistic and I also needed a compelling advocate to create the best possible IEP for her disabilities. Allison is simply the very best a family could ask for; empathetic, kind, patient, and she garners tremendous respect from colleagues in her field due to incredible intellect. Her unusual background with knowledge of Special Education, school system politics and legal expertise quite honestly make her far and away the most qualified. I have already recommended her to several other families. She has single-handedly improved the quality of my children's lives and I feel greatly indebted to her.

  • Carolina
    Carolina
    2017-02-27
    Avvo

    Ms. Hertog represented our daughter who has a very debilitating neurological illness in her appeal to the College Board for extended time. Allison was incredibly knowledgeable, professional, compassionate, supportive and straight forward and it was clear from the start that she truly believed in and had great passion for her work and for the children she serves. Allison worked with my daughter's doctors to document her complex medical issues and very real need for accommodations in a very detailed and convincing way. She also advocated assertively but always very professionally with the learning specialist at my daughter's private school to get the school to document the accommodations they have been granting her for the past 6 years as they were a bit reluctant to put it in writing. Ms. Hertog is very well respected in the educational community and her professional contacts were extremely helpful to our daughter's case. The College Board is notoriously difficult with appeals, especially when their Medical Review Board has already reviewed the case and granted some, but not all of the accommodations requested. They very rarely reverse these decisions on appeal but with Ms. Hertog's help they reversed their decision within a week! We are so grateful to her for her impassioned advocacy for our daughter. She is an extraordinary attorney and advocate for her clients and a wonderful, compassionate human being who we recommend most highly.

  • Kimberly
    Kimberly
    2017-02-22
    Avvo

    I had tried for almost 2 years to get a 504 for my high school son and then I contacted Allison Hertog. The fact that she has a Special education and Law degree is why we chose her. Thankfully in about a month we had our 504 in hand. We did not seek restitution money from the school district, my son just needed the process completed and my efforts were unsuccessful. Allison was amazing, she was honest about all possibilities and timelines and handled everything with the utmost professionalism.

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2016-07-05
    Avvo

    Our son (with ADHD and mild Asperger's) was failing at school because he was not receiving the services and accommodation he was supposed to receive. The meetings with the school administration were extremely unprofessional and basically they said they cannot do more for my son. After Alison took our case, we were able to modify his IEP to meet his needs, she was great and very helpful throughout the whole process. She is a wonderful advocate that truly understands what the families and kids go through especially in the current environment where the budgets are cut and the schools want to get rid of these kids if they cannot perform with minimal amount of services. I am glad I found her!

  • Alfredo
    Alfredo
    2016-05-25
    Avvo

    As a police officer I have dealt with attorneys Throughout my 23 year career. I have never dealt with a better attorney!! She is excellent and cares!! Without her my daughter would NEVER have gotten the help she needed. She obtained the IEP.. The school refused to help in anyway and violated the law. I tried to resolve the issue on my own and hours of meetings they simply refused reasonable accommodations for my daughters disability.' Allison corrected that .. She is so knowledgeable in this field no one will be better . She is awesome can't thank her enough and have nothing but great things to say about her!! I highly highly recommend her

  • anonymous
    anonymous
    2015-12-17
    Avvo

    Allison Hertog is an exceptional, outstanding and superb lawyer. She is very personable, approachable and has a good relationship with the school staff and faculty, as well a strong professional network with the employee in the school district and in the ESE Department. I highly recommend her to anyone who wants fairness for their child education. She is an excellent in response time, very knowledgeable and someone who will fight for you.

Font Resize
Contrast